HELP!Weak,gagging,gurgling rooster

TigerLand

In the Brooder
Feb 9, 2015
North Louisiana
Im new to chickens, have had a dz full grown hens and and a few roosters for 4 months now. ive lost 1 to coccidiosis(entire flock treated with corid).. 3 to dogs(handled that.) and now my cochin bantam rooster, my favorite chicken is weak, still eating but not drinking a lot. he had a little cough a few days ago but it wasnt bad. pollen is falling like crazy and he had just finished dust bathing. today when i got home from work, he came running to the end of their run with the rest of the flock like normal. when i walked out to see them i noticed he stayed back a little. and was moving around slowly with one eye closed, then both eyes.when he opened them they looked weak. he will cough one time and then stretch his neck out with his mouth opened like hes gagging or has something in his throat. hes making a gurgling sound also i noticed when i picked him up to check him out and syringe some water in his mouth. hes stayed up on his roost the rest of the evening and was still there when i closed up the coop. i opened the back door to look in on him and he was alert and hopped off. anyone have any suggestions? i have a hen who has a slight sneeze, sort of like the cochin banty rooster thats really sick now. thanks

There could be a respiratory disease going around in the flock, such as MG, coryza, ILT, or infectious bronchitis. I would suggest getting one tested through the state vet or local dept. of agriculture. Antibiotics such as Tylan, oxytetracycline, or Gallimycin are frequently used to treat respiratory infections. Coryza is treated with Sulmet or Sulfadimethoxine. Do you notice a bad odor in the rooster's face that could be coryza. Here is a link for your state vet and one about the different respiratory diseases:
http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044
http://www.usaha.org/Portals/6/StateAnimalHealthOfficials.pdf