Help with Broody Muscovy's babies hatching.

kkrogman

In the Brooder
May 12, 2016
Hi

I'm new to Muscovy ducks. I bought 2 females and 1 male. One of them nested under the chicken house so it is hard for me to see and access the nest.

I noticed today that 5 babies were outside tryiyg to get up the little ramp into the chicken house.
Do I need to have food and water on the ground or can they climb up the ramp? Will the mother help them?

about 6 hours later I check the nest as best I could and noticed the mother kicked out about 7 of the egg from the nest. 3 or 4 had a small hole in them and I could see the ducklings beak but they were dead. There are 2 or 3 left on the nest I can see moving and trying to hatch. They look like they have zipped (I think it is called).

So my questions are this. (sorry for the confusion, just so much going on)

• How big of an incline or ledge can a duckling get up? Will the mother "lift" them?
  • Will the mother help the babies hatch out of the shell?
  • Should I be helping the last ones I see struggling? So many looked to have died right at hatch. (it is very hot and humid out)
    • keep in mind 6 have hatched, but 1 got stuck on his back and died and I found another one on his back and he is questionable. My wife is babying him right now.
  • I was hoping the mother would do most the work. What do I need to do to help the rest of these survive with the mother raising them?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

@Miss Lydia

@Orca5094

@WVduckchick

I am not a hatcher nor are my ducks, but I have tagged some people who may be able to help.

@Going Quackers

There is also a Muscovy thread or two around - see if you can check in on one of those threads.

Sometimes duck mothers don't get with the program right away, and they need help caring for their littles. I don't know that they would give their ducklings a boost up a ramp. Ducks generally cannot handle ramps as steep as what is used for chickens, I know that.

Hi