Helpful Advice! New at chick raising and wanting to build our coop the best for our babies!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by jessoriley, Feb 7, 2013.

1. jessoriley

jessoriley New Egg

Feb 1, 2013
    So, we're just about ready to get our chicks in the next week or so. We plan on getting 12 to start with and if we want more eventually we'll get them. BUT we wanted to make sure we're going to build the coop right. We are planning on having our chicks free range during the day and only cooped up at night. We live in town (outskirts) with a large yard, and two german shephard livestock guard dogs. How big would we need to go? I was thinking 8 x 12 My husband's TALL so we'd need to make sure he could access it too lol, roost boxes- should there be access to the outside? Windows, electrical or no? I am having a hard time with the floor- we orginally we're thinking of doing the deep litter method, but I'm new at this. Concrete, plywood? I want it to look like it blends in with our home as well. We live in MO so the winters can be pretty cold, summers fair. How many roost boxes should I do if I have 12 chickens? Would you recommend installing anything particular- we plan on using a nipple system inside, and probably outside too! We're doing this on a very tight budget and actually are being given the building materials as my father's business he has extras. I'm planning on raising this chickens as naturally as possible. I also want to make sure cleanliness is KEY as I have two small children that will be helping, and we'll be selling eggs. Any information or experience tidbits would be greatly appreciated. I've looked at so many plans I'm overwhelmed.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    There are some stickies at the very top of this section of the forum that might help you.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/206328/byc-coop-section-helpful-thread-index