Hen cop and cage enclosure

MSwarrior2017

Hatching
Mar 25, 2024
Hi, I am brand new to having backyard chickens. I am reading everything I can find and watching videos online. My question is this, I’ve heard that sand is the best thing to put in their hut and enclosure. Where can I go buy sand and what should I buy? I only have 3 Langshan hens, 13 weeks old and I want to take the best care of them I can. Thank you!

I’ve heard that sand is the best thing to put in their hut and enclosure.
You didn't hear that from me or many here!
I use poop boards with granular PDZ or stall dry on them and pine and/or hemp bedding on the floor of the coop. The coop is cleaned annually and boards daily. Best management practice IMO.

For the run, I use wood chips. They allow cold composting of the poop load, break down slowly, drain well and give the birds something to dig around in.

Hi, welcome to the forum. Glad you joined.

Some people use sand and love it, some use it and hate it. The same thing can be said for any other type of bedding: wood chips, wood shavings, straw, hay, bare dirt, Spanish moss, grass clippings, or anything else. Some people turn their coop or run into a compost pile. If managed properly those can work well. What works best for you will depend on your climate, soil type, drainage, size of coop and run, management techniques, how dry or wet it stays, and many more things. What works well for some don't work at all for others.