Hen in nesting box, was panting lastnight, today I found her face down

TasteLikeChicken

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 21, 2010
Odessa,Missouri
Well how to make a long story short. First I'm new to all this chicken stuff. three months ago, I bought some cinnamon queens and some production reds. 23 of them, I built a brooder, I raised all 23 till they were big enough to go into the coop. I built a coop as well, and a pen. I had them outside for a month, and I had just put a tin roof on their pen, and later that night the neighbors dog went through the chicken wire and from what I understand now, dogs play a game, only kill, don't eat. So the next day I found my chickens scattered in the coop and out throughout the yard. I had them for about two and half months. Well I decided to go a different route, I always see these people selling laying hens on craigslist. So I went there and bought 7 laying hens, 2 black astralaups, 2 buff orphingtons, 3 production reds. I've only had them a week, one of them is laying a egg a day, now its two eggs a day, I don't know if they were stressed or something, but one egg the first day we got them, was oblong very skinny discolored. Now they are laying regular brown eggs. Lastnight I went to shut them up in the coop, and they must already know the schedule now, because now they go in on their own, before I get there. Their coop is 5x8ft. the pen is 8x16 so I'm guessing plenty of room for 7 well now 6. I have to very large windows with chicken wire covering them, so their is fresh air, and ofcourse the door which they go in and out. When I went out there to to shut up the coop, one hen was in the box, I was thinking maybe she was laying, her mouth was open. I noticed their waterer was full of pine shavings so I stepped in, got the waterer cleaned it out, and set it above the nesting boxes on plywood. I don't know if maybe I scared her, but they are not scared anymore, when I first got them, they were weary around me, now they seem to be f