Hen or Roo?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lothomson, Jan 5, 2015.

1. lothomson

lothomson Out Of The Brooder

Jan 2, 2015
    Hey, this is my first time on BYC.
    Anyways, my 23-24 week old Silver Laced Wyandotte seems to be a hen but certainly has the sass and manners of a rooster. Both my SLWs have not laid eggs yet. She is much larger than my other pullet and I believe I caught her crowing a few minutes ago. She is also dominant and seems to challenge me from time to time by fluffing up the feathers on her head and flapping her wings. She also refuses to allow me to pick her up unless she is in the perfect position and if I only hold her for about 5 seconds.

I've been at that point where I'm like: "I'm totally sure that she is well a SHE.", now I have been a little bit worried about my judgement. After all, these are my first chickens...

Any advice on how to tell (her?) gender will be very helpful.

[​IMG]Thanks

Pictures of my SLW:
    -First pic with both chickens: she is the bigger one on the left. (she?)
    -Second pic with both chickens: she is the taller one on the right. (she?)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. ThePRfan

ThePRfan Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2014
    Rooster.(leaning)
    She has a cockerals attitude,large combing wabbles,etc.
    Now,I will say dominant hens do have rooster alikes.Lots of times,hens consider you a flock member.So shell be aggressive.

I see no saddle feathering rooster likes,but lead hens often our protective.
    Normally roosters have large spurs,and have long curling tail feathering.

She does have a dark cherry red combing ETC.

ThePRfab

3. lothomson

Jan 2, 2015
    Thank you so much. [​IMG]

Do you know when I will know for sure that she is a roo (if she is)? I mean I guess I'll know if she doesn't lay eggs...

Last edited: Jan 5, 2015
  4. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge