hen raised turkey questions

Old McDonald 27

In the Brooder
10 Years
Mar 26, 2009
Alabama
HI! My royal palm hen is due to hatch her first poults on monday!! I am still pretty new to turkeys....so i have questions!! Since they are being hen raised do I still need to keep them off the ground? What do I need to feed them....and do I need to put molasses in the water?? Anything else I need to know or any tips??? Thanks in advance! Jessica

NO if you let the hen hatch them she will take care of them, just make sure that the water and feed is able to get to by the new poults

Keep them in a pen by them selves mom and new poults for the first few days and make sure that you put the tom in his own pen or he might harm the poults.

The hen will know what to do as far as taking care of them just make sure they have food and water and are in a safe place at night and then they should be fine with momma

Thanks! They are in a small coop by themselves for now... I thought that I would move them to a bigger area (still away from the tom) when they are about a week old? Is that to soon? I have chick starter. Is that ok or do I need special food for them? Thanks, Jessica

First time turkey hens can be very poor mothers unless she has been hatched by a hen herself. Keep a close eye on her and the poults at first, young poults chill easy and need to be kept dry. It's best to keep the hen and poults in a small area for at least a couple weeks until the poults start growing well and can get around and keep up. If they go in a larger area to soon sometimes they will get lost or can't keep up and get left behind.

You need a higher protien feed for the poults - we use a 28% medicated game bird starter for our poults. Raising them on the ground keep a close eye out for cocci.

Steve in NC