Hen Screaming Loudly for Hours

The Welch Chickens

Crowing
Premium Feather Member
Mar 18, 2023
Rhode Island
Our Spitzhauben has been yelling very loudly all day and we can’t find out what is wrong.
She is 25 weeks old and has never laid; but most of the hens have.
She is just yelling and yelling about once per minute, pacing a bit too.

Unfortunately, our top hen in the pecking order passed away in her sleep last night and we found her this morning.:hit It is the first death in our flock, but not the first chicken to leave, our rooster was re-homed recently and the flock got used to it quickly with no problems.
Could our Spitzhauben be stressed out because of the death?

Or could it be time for her to lay and she is in pain/stressed about that?

I will try to post a video which I have never done before, if it doesn’t work I’ll have to figure out a different way.

Last edited:
Our Spitzhauben has been yelling very loudly all day and we can’t find out what is wrong.
She is 25 weeks old and has never laid; but most of the hens have.
She is just yelling and yelling every 2 minutes, pacing a bit too.

Unfortunately, our top hen in the pecking order passed away in her sleep last night and we found her this morning. It is the first death in our flock, but not the first chicken to leave, our rooster was re-homed recently and the flock got used to it quickly with no problems.
Could our Spitzhauben be stressed out because of the death?

Or could it be time for her to lay and she is in pain/stressed about that?

I will try to post a video which I have never done before, if it doesn’t work I’ll have to figure out a different way.

That sounds like a hen that laid an egg. Some call it "their song." I call it racket.

We have one, with a bit different voice, that has been doing that on and off for a month, and she's way past her egg-laying years, so not sure what that's about either.