Hi from Bosque, NM

nhcd33

Hatching
Jul 8, 2016
Bosque, NM
Hi there! My name is Shannon and I'm brand new to chickens. My boyfriend is not and has has them on and off most of his life. We just got a flock of 6 with 5 hens (3 Easter Eggers, 1 Speckled Sussex & 1 Buff Orpington) and a Crram Legbar Rooster. The hens are all about 9 months old and were laying 4-6 eggs per week per hen with their last owner. They were also free range in the ladies backyard. She fed them a mixture of crumble 16% and scratch with some additional fruits and vegetables. We are feeding the same but I don't think we are feeding as much fruits and vegetables as she was. We have them penned with a coop right now as they acclimate to us and the new area. We live in the country and she lived in town. We have 2.2 acres but the house is on a fenced acre with the back yard and front yard separated. The chickens are in the backyard right now. I have 3 dogs, a German Shepard and 2 Heelers all around 3 years old and they have never been around chickens before. Matter of fact they have never been in the country before. Lol. They are city dogs.
1f60a.png
So everyone is getting used to everyone.