Hi from Seattle!

tkjjas

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 23, 2010
I'm fairly new to chicken keeping, but brand-new on this forum. I've come for HELP!!! We have 2 16-month-old hens and 3 4-month-old pullets that we just introduced to the flock this summer.

I've already whined about our chicken problems on another thread, but here's what it boils down to:

We have a large backyard for Seattle, but probably small compared to most chicken keepers. It's 60' x 40' with a large deck, kids' stuff (sand box, trampoline, playhouse), 40' x 20' lawn, and groundcover and mulch around the fringes. The front yard is our vegetable and fruit garden, so we want to be able to play in the backyard. We've let the birds have free range of the backyard during the day (they get locked in their coop at night because of the urban raccoons). We've love the eggs, but have been shocked at the amount of work to keep the area cleaned up of poop so the kids and their friends aren't constantly stepping in it. Now that we have 5 birds back there, it is almost impossible to keep up on the poop! I think we'd still be okay with the clean-up efforts if the deck weren't so disgusting. For some reason, much of the poop ends up there and creates stains that are so hard to remove. We'd really like to use the deck for our evening meals, not a chicken latrine!

Any ideas for us? Is there something we can spray on the deck that won't bother us, but will keep the birds away? There is no way to fence the deck without making it really unpleasant to be out there.