Hi from Tasmania.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chooklearner, Jan 10, 2014.

1. Chooklearner

Chooklearner New Egg

Jan 10, 2014
    I am very new at keeping chickens, having only acquired a small flock of 8 ladies 3 weeks ago. They are older birds leghorns and reds. Things have been great until 2 or 3 days ago, when I noticed a red with a very dirty backside, she was also lethargic with very runny poo . After reading lots of information on your site, I have isolated her, given her yogurt, probiotics and a bath! Your site is great source of information. Her backside did not appear red or inflamed and I could not find any mites etc. Not sure what to do next, is it safe to bath her regularly? The girls have layer pellets, some seeds (prepared) and lots of kitchen scaps. As we have an accommodation cottage, we thought having chickens would be great for families and their children to experience hens and egg collection, however, I am not sure whether the girls had been fed by guests and if so, what they have had. Could this have caused the problem? Thanks for all the help so far. I would love more advice. Sue

2. gander007

gander007 Chicken Obsessed

Alright and [​IMG] great to have you onboard [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sounds like you did your reading good job [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Might want to wash that backside with some no tears shampoo [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Might want to try a good hardboiled egg pealed and mashed then serve [​IMG]

gander007 [​IMG]

3. Bluebee

Bluebee Overrun With Chickens

Jul 30, 2012
    Cali
  4. JDchicks

JDchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2012
    Southeast Alabama
    Welcome!

I hope your hen feels better.

5. petrel

petrel Chats with Chickens

Sounds like you are on the right track. With regard to the kitchen scraps, too much spinach gives my flock runny poos. You may want to discontinue the scraps until the condition clears.

Welcome to BYC.

6. Chooklearner

Chooklearner New Egg

Jan 10, 2014