Hi - Total Noob Here in Ohio!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ldyjarhead, Nov 13, 2009.

1. Ldyjarhead

Ldyjarhead Out Of The Brooder

Nov 11, 2009
    South/Central OH
    I've been reading non-stop for a couple of days now and think I'm caught up, so time to pop in and say hi! A writer friend got chickens recently and she pointed me in the direction of BYC.

I'm Marie Anne, retired Marine with two grown sons. I was born n raised in NH and although I've lived in a boatload of places, I'm halfway settled in south/central Ohio.

I've had horses in the past and of course dogs and cats, but new to chickens. I live on about an acre in a rural area with cattle, sheep and farmland all around me. I haven't got my chickens yet, but will be working on the coop and pen this weekend so hopefully I'll be ready for them soon.

I want eggs and didn't want to wait until spring to get chicks and then have to wait that much longer until they get to laying, but found a lady just up the road from me that raises several breeds and she has 6 Barred Rock/New Hampshire mix pullets she'll sell me. Might get a few eggs through the winter, but I know not to expect any, and will still be a nice winter project for me.

That's me in a nut(egg?)shell. Glad to be here and know I'll be picking your brains as things get rolling around here.

2. Jena

Jena The Welsh Witch

Nov 2, 2008
    Cardiff
    Welcome, [​IMG]

You will find all you need to know here, and you will make many wonderful friends.

This time last year I was a complete newbie too. You will do fine and your place sounds ideal, Good luck to you.

Jena. [​IMG]

3. b.hromada

b.hromada Flock Mistress

Hi Marie Anne! [​IMG] from S. Florida! Its great to have you here with us!

4. faykokoWV

faykokoWV Mrs Fancy Plants

Nov 4, 2008
    Cross Lanes, WV
    [​IMG]