Hi

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Goose loose, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Goose loose

Goose loose New Egg

Apr 9, 2017
    Hello, im brand new to all of this, but I have come to this place often to seek answers for some of my flock problems. I seem to be having one again. I hope this is a good place to ask, but I have this flock of female chickens. All seemed fine, I had a couple of roosters with them also. Well, after awhile the hens attacked and killed all my roosters, and then they started attacking each other. After a while, they stopped. They behaved all winter and now they're attacking each other. I can not seem to find one chicken doing it, I fear its most of the chickens attacking each other. Already I have had one death, a chicken with its tail feathers plucked out, and another one with a wound at the base of her tail. I do not know what to do. I searched everywhere for clues or answers, but found the same results. Cannibalism, over crowded, boredom, and having to much light (I have never ever heard of that, and I have raised chickens all my life) (I know about not having enough light and effecting the egg laying, but never to much light) What could I do?

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. You do seem to have an issue on your plate, for sure. This link may help - http://articles.extension.org/pages...nibalism-in-small-and-backyard-poultry-flocks

I'd say that if you research has brought you to the same conclusions, then you need to address the causes. It's likely that one intervention will not fix the issue, but more likely a suite of interventions. If your flock has become habituated to this kind of behaviour, then breaking the cycle may not be easy.

Good luck
    CT

3. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under Goose loose [​IMG] Welcome!