Hole under vent

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by gctruex, Aug 13, 2011.

1. gctruex

gctruex New Egg

Mar 24, 2008
    I have been caring for chickens for 4 years, but this one takes the cake. I had a hen that I hatched over 3 years ago and one morning my son told me she wasn't looking well. I told him to put her in the crate and I'll look at her when I get back from an errand. I noticed that her bedding was wet and there was an odor. I took her in to bathe her and discovered that there was a large opening the size of a a 1/2 dollar below her vent and it was infected with magets. We had to cull her. What could have caused this? Could she have been egg bound? I had noticed that her tail had been down for several months versus being upright like other hens.

Char

2. crj

crj Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2009
    Rocky Point, NC
    I have no idea but maybe she had pastybutt which irritated the skin then got infected as she pecked at it. Maybe someone has something better. It's just a thought.

3. Sonoran Silkies

Sonoran Silkies Flock Mistress

Jan 4, 2009
    Tempe, Arizona
    There was no reason to put her down. Birds can and often do recover from flystrike unless they are already at death's door.