How big is the coop door? Please help

Chickenfarmer 1-2-b

Songster
10 Years
Oct 28, 2009
this sounds like a silly question but I am a newbie and trying to build my first chicken coop, is there a standard size of the door? I guess it has to fit the chicken, but I never had a chicken before so it does not help there. I am thinking of getting the standard size hens in the near future. Any suggestion would be appreciated. Please give me your dimensions, may be I can average them.

The door only needs to be as big as the person using it. If you need to reach in through it to get to the food or a chicken, make it big enough for you! Otherwise 12in by 10 in is fine. Big chickens can get into little spaces! Actually I have a lot of chickens, like 50, and we need to either enlarge the hole or make another one. They fit fine, but sometimes bossy chickens will stand in the door and not let the other chickens out.

thanks for a quick reply. I did actually put other access doors in the front side of the coop for cleaning purposes, but these doors will remain closed most of the time. Right now I have the door opening for the chickens drawn out at 12"x16", sounds like pretty close to your suggested dimensions. Just want to make sure before I make the cut. Any more suggestions from anyone else? Thanks in advance. Boy I can't wait to order some chics, but not until I finish the coop though.

I would keep the height of the door between 10 & 12 inches. If they can stand in the door...they will. Although some of my girls perch in their door on warm days, taking advantage of the nice breeze.

Really, almost anything will work. And if it doesn't, just make another.

We bought a pre-fab kit, actually a storage building with double door in front so will not have a small 'chicken door'. With our building the doors will be open during the day so the chickens will go in/out that way.

Hi,