How cold is too cold?

darcylapp

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 28, 2010
Madison
I am new to chicken keeping. I have one Bantam rooster, one Polish Bantam hen, and one Easter Egger hen. My husband and I have been letting all three out into their run most days. We live in Wisconsin, where the temperatures have ranged from 10-40 degrees over the month. Yesterday, we noticed our little Bantam rooster had what appears to be a bit of frostbite on his comb. So, I'm wondering, when should we keep them inside their coop? I'd like to let them out as often as possible as I can't imagine being cooped up is any fun for them, but I don't want them to get frostbitten or sick.

Also, I've read that oftentimes frostbite results from humidity. Besides opening a coop window or door, how does one better ventilate the coop?

THANKS!

10 degrees today in Central Iowa and the girls were crying to get out and play. Like the post before, ventilation is the key, not the weather!! We have had -20 wind chills and the girls still want to come out. Today they were in part of the garden where the snow had melted and were taking their dust baths.

In many setups they are actually more likely to get frostbitten indoors than out. Frostbite usually results from humidity buildup, which occurs because the chickens and their poop give off a huge amount of water vapor. Ideal ventilation is simply a nice big hole at the highest part of the coop. I often suggest when people are building a coop that they slant the roof only one way and vent all the way across the highest side, using an extended roof as a sort of awning. Just to give you an idea. The humid air that needs to get out is also a bit warm so it naturally rises and thus gets out.