1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How cold is too cold?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by darcylapp, Jan 15, 2011.

1. darcylapp

darcylapp Out Of The Brooder

Jun 28, 2010
    Madison
    I am new to chicken keeping. I have one Bantam rooster, one Polish Bantam hen, and one Easter Egger hen. My husband and I have been letting all three out into their run most days. We live in Wisconsin, where the temperatures have ranged from 10-40 degrees over the month. Yesterday, we noticed our little Bantam rooster had what appears to be a bit of frostbite on his comb. So, I'm wondering, when should we keep them inside their coop? I'd like to let them out as often as possible as I can't imagine being cooped up is any fun for them, but I don't want them to get frostbitten or sick.

Also, I've read that oftentimes frostbite results from humidity. Besides opening a coop window or door, how does one better ventilate the coop?

THANKS!

2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
  3. palochknldy

palochknldy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Palo, Iowa
    10 degrees today in Central Iowa and the girls were crying to get out and play. Like the post before, ventilation is the key, not the weather!! We have had -20 wind chills and the girls still want to come out. Today they were in part of the garden where the snow had melted and were taking their dust baths.

4. nuttyredhead

nuttyredhead Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2010
    Southern NH
    Quote:Your climate is too harsh for Bantams? Where in NH are you located? Im in Southern NH and so far my Bantams are ok!

5. featherz

featherz Veggie Chick

Mar 22, 2010
    Saratoga County, NY
    -10 today and my d'uccle bantams were as bouncy as ever. No heat in the coop.

6. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member