How cold is too cold

alec120psi

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 22, 2013
Hi folks, I'm new to chickens and to this forum. We have 4 Sizzle chicks (3 smooth and 1 frizzled) that hatched on Jan 15-20. It has been in the high 30's to low 40's at night and in the 60's to low 70's during the day. They are out in the coop with a heat lamp on at night. Keeping the coop pretty warm. That said they do not enter the coop on their own. They seem to prefer to cuddle up in a corner under the coop. When I heard them in they do stay until early in the morning when they leave for food and water and to do other chick stuff.

My question is do I need to continue to turn the lamp on at night and heard them into the coop or can I just let them be and figure it out on their own?

Thank you

Alec

That's still pretty cold for the little chicks. You need to keep the lamp going and put them in the coop if they won't go. They'll be fine once all their feathers are fully in and it starts to warm up more.

That's what I was figuring. Thanks for the confirmation.

What do you think would be a good nighttime temp before the heat lamp is turned off? I was thinking the50's would be about right since they are out and about early in the morning when it is still pretty cold. Does that sound about right?

Thanks again

Alec

Once they have all their feathers in then you will need to wean them. They're going to be used to the lamp and once you turn it off they're going to huddle again and be cold. I usually wean them a little at a time. It usually takes about a week or sometimes more depending upon the birds themselves.

No need to rush it. It sounds like you're doing great.

Sounds good. Wean away. Looks like all feathers are in. Is it best to wean with a smaller bulb or fewer hours of heat, I.e. using a timer to turn it on/off on a schedule?

Thanks again for your help.