how do I get a broody used to isolation.

10 point

country boy
8 Years
Feb 19, 2011
LaFayette, NY
I have two broody buff orpingtons and I want to set them on about 12 eggs from My other hens. but when I go to separate them out into the new broody hutch they freak out and stop sitting on the eggs. neither of these hens have hatched out chicks before and don't know that being separated out is the only way they can hatch out the eggs without having to fight with the other hens and not have the eggs broken while they are fighting.

any advice on acclimating them to there new home so I can set some eggs would be very much appreciated

I am no expert, this chicken raising is new to me this past spring... but I had the same problem with my broody hen. I isolated her and she freaked out. I thought by doing that she would have abandoned her nest. She didnt. I put her back in the nesting box with in the coop. She did just fine, she eventually put the other chickens in their place and all was good. I kept food and water near her so she didnt have to go far. Then I had the issue of her protecting the baby. I isolated them....she again didnt like it so I put them in a tote that was fine for a day or two. At just a week old the mom had her baby running around with 40 other full grown chickens. I cant believe what a good mom a chicken is!

Hi I have two buffs too an I'm going through this too .beat thing I've found is to move them out at night when they are asleep as they are much calmer . Make sure they cant see there old home as it annoys them and won't settle as they want to go back . Make sure they have food and water and hopefully they shoul be good!fingers crossed for u !

Are you certain they're going to fight and that you need to isolate?