1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How do I get my hens to like me :)

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by RubyMabelandPearl, Sep 15, 2009.

1. RubyMabelandPearl

RubyMabelandPearl Out Of The Brooder

Sep 15, 2009
    Portland, OR
    Hi Everyone! I'm new to BYC and also to chicken raising... I'm obsessed! Three weeks ago I got three 6-7 month old hens (1 Rhode Island Red-Ruby, 1 Black Astrolorp-Mabel, 1 white Leghorn-Pearl).

My question is- how do I get them to like me enough not to run away from me when I try and pick them up? I bring them lots of treats daily- they are in an enclosed hen house/run but I let them free range after I get home from work for a few hours. They seem really happy and excited when they see me coming and so far Ruby and Mabel will eat out of my hand. Ruby lets me pick her up and seems to be the most friendly. I am trying to be patient but Mable got out of our yard yesterday (we have fixed the escape route) and I felt so bad having to chase her and catch her. Now she is probably MORE scared of me than before!!!

Thanks everyone in advance for your sage advice!!!

Jessica [​IMG]

Oh, and I don't know if this matters but Pearl and Ruby are laying lots of eggs- Mabel hasn't started yet.

2. chickensforever

chickensforever Out Of The Brooder

Jan 16, 2007
    Bellevue, WA