How do I make a coop when the odds are NOT in my favor?

dahlinminers

Hatching
5 Years
Jun 1, 2014
Yosemite, California
My parents have been really getting on my case for making a coop for my chickens (I'm a high school student), but they aren't giving me the means to actually make one. I've been asking them for wood, wire, etc. since before we got our new additions to our flock (in June/July last year), but they won't even consider it. I live kind of in the middle of nowhere, with a LOT of predators (wild dogs, raccoons, mountain lions, etc.) and it's difficult to keep my ten chickens in a temporary coop (we lost maybe five since we got the new ones). How am I supposed to make a new coop when I'm not being given any guidance or material that is needed to make one? (I can't get a job, since I'm not fifteen yet, so paying for the materials myself isn't really a possibility.)

We made a coop once using old pallets that were free from one of our local construction company. We pulled the pallets apart and used the boards to make the coop all we needed was a hammer and some nails. We used whole pallets for the frame and used the boards to fill in the holes.

Hopefully this helps
Alyssa

Why was a plan for housing not put in place before the chickens [or additional chickens] were procured? My gut reaction is you should rehome the chickens to a home with the means to support them. I don't mean to be rude as I understand you are young, but if you can not financially afford to keep chickens then you should do the right thing and rehome them to someone who can.

If you can't afford to build a coop, how do you afford food, or bedding to keep a sanitary coop?

It is unfortunate that your parents are not lending more financial support and guidance but soon you can get a job (hopefully) and then you'll be in a better place to keep chickens.