How do you call a chick home?

devora

Songster
12 Years
Apr 9, 2007
Willits, CA Gateway to the Redwoods
OK, I’m gonna dive in here w/ what I KNOW will sound like the lamest Q to hit BYC…here goes:

How do you get the chickens to go back into the coop after you let them out for the day, whether to run around the yard free or in a run? I read on a site about feeding them morning and evening (and calling them) so that they associate ME w/ GOOD STUFF and consequently go where I want them to. We want our chicks to cruise around the yard and enjoy their run, both. And we want them back in the coop at night, safe and sound.

But many sites speak of feeders in the coop. And therein is found my utter confusion: if they have food all the time why on earth would ME=GOOD STUFF? If I were they, I’d stick my cute little beak in the air and ignore all the “Chick, chick, chick-ing” that I was so looking forward to shelling out.
roll.png

Thanx for helping!

I'm not an expert (haven't even gotten my chicks yet), but I imagine what you read meant treats. If they associate scratch or other various treats with you, they'll come running I'm sure. I'm not sure treats should be given every morning and night, though. Your chickens will always come back to roost in the evening, though.

Chickens will self-regulate with food, so giving them constant access via a feeder is best. (Look ma, I've been learned good!)

Last edited:
Whenever I give treats...grapes, bread, kitchen scraps...or scratch all I have to do is say...Baaaaaaaaaaaabies!! They all come running like a pack of dogs! Mine get free choice food in the coop....but when they are out....they eat bugs, grasses all day. However, they know..baaaaaaabies, means yum yums.

Our flock forages our 2 acres and are provided with layer mash and water, grit and oyster shell free choice 24/7 in the hen house. (We don't ever provide feed outside of the hen house, as the wild birds will eat it.) They still love their evening treat.