How do you know how old a chicken is?? ***PICTURES ADDED***

*GEL*

In the Brooder
10 Years
Apr 17, 2009
Indiana
I recently bought 2 golden comet hens at a traders fair and the kid who had them said they were just over a year old. When I asked about egg laying the adult with him said that they were just coming out of molting and with the move and all it would be probably around 2 weeks before I could expect any eggs.

Then later here on the forum, I read that they don't molt until they are 18 mos or older. I just wondered if there was anyway to know how old they actually are?? Thanks for any help as I am totally new at this and want to know if I was 'taken'. If I was I'll chaulk it up to learning a lesson and go get some Chicks....lol......so then I know they aren't past prime laying age (not that 18 mos is over the hill - but they could be 18 Years old for all I know....lol).
big_smile.png

Last edited:
wish I could answer this question with facts but,..... I feel of the bird to see if she is "plump" older hens tend to get a not so plump breast (happened to me at 40 lol) also where the spurs grow, look for small nubs kinda soft compared to older hard areas. also look at the toes, see if the nails are really long and grown out maybe curving to the side a little (sign of an older bird) hens that are laying good are going to lose some color in their faces, my young RIR's have pink, blush color in their faces, the older ones ate pale. again this is just my opinion I too would like to hear what others think
dk

I will take some pictures today of there faces and feet and try to post them on here so maybe someone can help me figure it out........thanks for the replys!