How do you know????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by dandydoodle, Oct 6, 2011.

1. dandydoodle

dandydoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    How do you know who is the lead rooster. The one I think is the leader walks around and doesn't mess with anyone much. He tried to bite me last week though. I think I have seen him do one or two dances toward the other roo. Okay now the other roo I have seems to stay out of rooster number ones way alot but, he puffs up all the time and dances toward the ladies and to me. Is he trying to stay as number two or what is he doing? There are two boys in there and three girls. If anyone can help me that would be great I am kind of new to chickens and definitely new to having roos. They are about 5 and 6 months old and I am trying to figure out what all this behavior means.

thanks,
    MIchelle [​IMG]

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

The wing drop and dancing is a mating ritual. That they are doing for you is NOT a good sign. Coupled with his biting you spells difficulties. Roosters can be wonderful but they can also draw blood and leave serious scars and little children are especially vulnerable.

It is past time to take control and show dominance over those roos. If not, there's trouble ahead. There are lots of threads here on subduing a rooster. Some folks fail and those roos go straight to freezer camp, as they should.

3. dandydoodle

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    The roo that bit me and the roo that puffs up and dances are two different roos. So the one that puffs and dances is flirting with me??? Why is that a bad thing will more bad behavior follow? He has never bit or flogged. Is puffing up flirting two or is that something else? Should I pin him for dancing and puffing? I usually just pick him up and parade him around and pet him and that usually ends it.