1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How important is a roost in the coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by DangerChickenHouse, Sep 2, 2011.

1. DangerChickenHouse

DangerChickenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2011
    Charlotte, NC
    What is it's purpose?

At what age is it important for a chick to have a roost?

(i'm new to this [​IMG])

2. brahmakid11

brahmakid11 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 23, 2011
    sitting on the toilet
    it is very important to have a roost

3. Sportsterjeep

Sportsterjeep Creekside Acres Farm

Jun 1, 2010
    Mill Hall PA
    Roosts depend on the breed. It gives them a place to fly up to and perch during the night, and sometimes during the day. Some breeds will use them, some will not(silkies). Some like high roosts while others prefer a closer to the ground roost. I put a practice bar in the brooder at a couple weeks old that they use. It's only about 3 to 4 inches above the shavings.

What breed(s) do you have?

4. cravenchx

cravenchx Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2011
    Piedmont of NC
    We had used small twigs when they were 3 weeks
    old in the brooder. Soooo cute:love

5. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Well, it helps them not to have to sleep in their own poop. And they naturally like to be above the ground because of their inclination to avoid predators at night when they cannot see.

6. DangerChickenHouse

DangerChickenHouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2011
    Charlotte, NC