How involved do I get with a suspected child abuse case?

txbioteacher

Chirping
11 Years
Apr 25, 2009
South Texas
I'm still new to BYC, but I feel like this place is a wonderful sounding board for chickens as well as life experiences. I appreciate any feedback y'all can give.

Some of you may remember my post from a few days ago where I detailed my job loss. I wanted to preface my story with that to let you know that I am no longer affiliated with the high school and as such I'm no longer bound by law to any specific actions.

I teach 9th grade biology and had a student this year with a troubling home life, but would have never guessed until she told me. She attempted suicide back in early April which came as a shock to *everyone*. She was hospitalized for a few days and attended intense therapy for about 30 days or so, but seemed to be doing "better." About two weeks ago, she came into my room in tears. I pulled her into the back room where she told me that her dad was angry with her and drinking heavily. She told me how he drinks every night and takes out his anger (mostly verbally, but sometimes physically) on her and how he's abusive to her dog. I listened with a sympathetic ear while she talked, but then told her that she was way beyond my realm of experience and suggested that she go talk to her school counselor (as per S.O.P.). I went ahead and gave her my cell phone number in case of an emergency but told her to put it under my first name.