How Long before a fertile egg becomes too fertile

leashells

Hatching
8 Years
May 8, 2011
Montana
I am new to raising chickens and harvesting eggs. I have 13 hens (pulletts) and 4 roosters ( for now... 2 are about to go to the soup pot). I believe that I'm going to have plenty of eggs and would like to eventually sell or give away my excess eggs. I am concerned about selling someone eggs and them ending up with a nasty surprise. My hens just started laying about 2 weeks ago... so I have anxiously been looking for eggs!!! I gather my eggs every day and put them in the fridge. My hens seem to be a bit lazy so they don't lay until about 10 am.. so often I'm not able to gather eggs until after I get home in the evening. I wasn't too worried until I cracked open an egg tonight and it had what looked like about 1/4" by 1/10" little brown goober in it! I don't have a problem of carefully cracking my eggs and separating out such goobers... but I have some "city" folk who are interested in eggs that might not think thats ok! How long can egg be left out before this becomes a problem? Everything I read so far seems like an egg thats sat outside for 1/2 a day shouldn't have the beginnings of a chick in it yet! I would love some thoughts and opinions on this! I really don't want to get rid of all my roo's!! Im kind of attached to a couple of them!

What you saw was not a chick. It was what's usually called a meat fleck or something similar, it's just a glitch in the hen's laying process, more common in new layers as their bodies work out the process. Fertile eggs need to be incubated at almost 100 degrees for a few days to start a chick developing.