How long outside?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by suenotto, Jul 27, 2010.

1. suenotto

suenotto Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2010
    Limeport
    Hi, I'm trying to figure out how long to let the ducks outside the pen during the day. I am new to keeping ducks and got an assortment of 13 around 5 weeks ago. We have a 10' X 16' pen built for them (no roof yet) for nighttime but I want them to free range during the day. The last 2 weeks have been exceedingly hot in Pennsylvania and they have not been much interested in wandering the field, rather they just hunkered down in the base cover of a large pine tree.

Anyhow, they could be left out at 6am and then checked on again at 1 or 3pm. Is this too long to be unsupervised? They could be left into the pen around 5 pm or 8 pm. What is a reasonable and safe schedule for ducks? I want them to scavenge the bugs and fertilize the yard but obviously I don't want them to be killed by predators or wander off. What is a prudent schedule?

Also, I noticed 2 ducks have a spiny bone on one or both wings, any thought about it? I did see some posts about "angel wing" it doesn't quite look like that, but one duck had some blood on that spot and the other duck was picking at it. I washed the blood and put EMT gel on it and it seems fine, the other duck stopped picking. Still, I noticed a 2nd duck with the same ruffled and pokey bone on the wing..

Thanks for your thoughts,
    Susie

2. AdamD77

AdamD77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2010
    Bedfordshire, England
    Mine are't properly outside yet but from what I've seen other people say, they have their ducks out when it's light but keep them safe inside when it's dark or getting dark. I guess that varies depending on the time of year and when you wake up/go to bed [​IMG]

3. jrobertson

jrobertson Robertson's Rare Poultry

Apr 24, 2010
    NW Alabama