How many chickens can this hold?

looks like the covered area might be something like sixteen square feet.

i live in a climate with cold winter days and nights, people have recommended eight to ten square feet per chicken

It looks like it will sleep two hens. The run would be extremely small to keep them in- I would give them a larger run.

You live in a cold climate, it looks like, where they will be living inside the coop when it snows. I'd give them a little more space, as that coop is only 30 inches wide.

It is recommended to have 4 sq. feet per chicken inside the coop PLUS 10 square feet per chicken in the run.

It is desirable to have more room than less in cold climates.

(It would make a nice growout pen though for smaller chicks!)

Last edited:
Quote:
Here is my thoughts, I am a newbie and several months ago I bought the ware chick n cabin. Not at all pleased. Look at the dimensions carefully. I would bet the Actual coop will be a tight 2x2. Good for one hen in my opinion. Also consider your climate, these are not insulated, I dont think. I am not that handy, but am about half done building my own. There is a lot of good advice on here.

Wow, that doesn't even look big enough for the two hens pictured. That's a lot of money for such a small coop and pen. Have you looked on craigslist for coops, or wooden playhouses? Most of my coops are converted playhouses. Just add a floor, hardware cloth over the windows, locks on doors and windows, nest boxes and perches (okay, now it's sounding like a lot of work, but it really isn't). In the end you will have a nice coop that will cost less and house more chickens that the one you are looking at.

For pens, i buy used kennels, then add a roof and hardware cloth around the bottom. You want to plan on more space than less, as you will probably want to add more chickens down the line.
wink.png

Last edited:
Chicken coops are SO expensive around here--nothing less than $600 or so on craigslist.