How Many Chicks to Buy / Question

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Diavolicchio, Jan 3, 2010.

1. Diavolicchio

Diavolicchio Buk Buk Buk Buh-GAWWWK

Hey, Chickenheads . . .

Question from a NOOB:

I'm just starting out, and I know the first piece of advice I'm apt to get from many folks is to begin smaller. So let's just assume you've already told me that.

I'm interested in ending up with 8 mature hens and 1 rooster each of 6 different breeds. I've already chosen the breeds I'll be going with. With this number of hens and roosters being my ultimate goal, how many chicks of each should I initially order? I've been thinking it may make more sense to get 2 males and 10 females of each to allow myself a little more latitude for selecting the final flock. Should it be more? Less?

I'll never want more than one rooster of each, but I'm thinking that I'm being pretty optimistic in assuming that if I were only to order one male of each, that I'd automatically end up with six terrific males. Same with the hens. If I start out with ten hens of each, I could decide over the first couple months which ones are the best overall choices for the flock, and just send the extra 18 to Freezer Camp (12 hens + 6 roosters.) I know that sounds kind of harsh, but wouldn't hand-picking which chickens I wanted to keep give me a better chance of establishing the best flock?

I'd also really like to get a number of good, organic, free-range roasters out of this process, so starting with a few extras may not be a bad thing. How many would YOU order upfront if you had the same goals as I do?

I'd love to hear people's thoughts on this. Thanks.

John

Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  2. JenEric Farms

JenEric Farms GOOGLE GENIUS

Oct 31, 2007
    Maine
    Hello from MAINE!

My advice: Get as many as you have the comfortable room for, they are addictive and you can never have enough!

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop