How many roosters are too many?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by offmyroost, Jul 9, 2011.

1. offmyroost

offmyroost Out Of The Brooder

May 25, 2011
    Well it's official. Flo is really Floyd. He is about 3 1/2 months old and he had all the signs but today was his first crow. Unfortunately, in my flock of fourteen, Abigail is now Abe, and Winona is now Wyatt. That means that I have 3 roosters and 11 hens. Since I am new to chicken raising, I'm not sure if I will necessarily have to start making arrangements for a new home for one or more of my roos. Is there any possibility that three will be ok? From what I have read, the chances sound slim. Is there anyone out there who has had that high of a roo to hen ratio? [​IMG]

2. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    I think most will agree only one roo with 10 hens. Sometimes you can get by with 2 if they've been raised together but in my personal experience that hasn't ever happened! As soon as they get breeding age they start fighting over the hens and trying to outdo the other to see who will reign supreme. Even with one roo and 10 hens per coop when they were young and first breeding I had every single one of my hens wearing aprons ..so I can't imagine more than one in there with mine.

You can always just start a second flock of course [​IMG].

I now have 3!! LOL

3. Tanichca

Tanichca Sparkle Magnet

May 6, 2009
    Vail, Arizona
    I have three roos to a flock of 8 hens... no fighting at all, unless its between the two top hens. I just think its a matter of size, age, and if you raised the roos together.

4. Rowtag

Rowtag Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2009
    Murfreesboro, TN