How Much Do Chickens Really Eat?

eeiko321

Songster
11 Years
Sep 1, 2008
hi guys,

im still new to this with very little experience.
im wondering how much do chickens eat?
theyre fully grown and it seems to me....the more i feed, the MORE they eat!

they dont STOP, they only Slow down...but all day long they EAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i usually put aprox 100 Grams of chicken feed a day in a feeder

and when i come home...its all GONE....i dont know if other birds steal them also

but theyre always willing to eat watever i give them

when do u stop?

I have a 2 week old chick eating sun up to sun down. After a couple hours it looks like she has swelled half her size. (Not quite that big but pretty big.) But by morning it's flat again. Is this normal for her to eat so much?

that would depend on a what kind of chickens you have..

I have 10 chcikens and i go through a 25KG bag of food in 1 month I have laying chickens..

well maybe im over feeding it?

coz i bought a 5 kilo bag 2 weeks ago and its nearly finished
and its only 2 hens....and one doesnt lay

I've always read 1/4 lb of feed per day for a light breed and 1/3 more in quantity for a heavy breed, which most people have. You do the math!
big_smile.png

Actually, that would be 4 oz for a light breed or a little over 5 oz for a heavy breed. If you have 2 heavy breed laying hens, that would be about 300 grams of feed a day. My 10.5 oz bag of fish food is 300 grams.
lol.png

Free ranging, treats, not laying eggs, molting or how much exercise they get, can all effect how much they eat.