How much do I feed my bantams?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Freddy, Mar 28, 2008.

1. Freddy

Freddy Out Of The Brooder

How much does everyone feed their bantams? I have seen post that say 1/4 of a pound for an average chicken and 1/3 for heavy ones, but what about bantams. I would really appreciate some input on this and everything else, I'm new to raising chickens at first all I was feeding my chickens was scratch, nothing else! :eek:. Well hope to hear from ya'll soon.

Thanks

Freddy

2. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

I let mine free feed. I'm assuming you're not feeding them all scratch anymore? Hopefully not because that is like candy to them.
    Bantams are approx. 1/3 the size of a standard chicken, so I'd think they would eat 1/3 the amount of food. But, I think you'd be better off letting them free feed.

3. Frozen Feathers

Frozen Feathers Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2007
    Maine
    My all get free-choice layer pellets. Meaning I have a giant feeder in their coop that I keep full.
    That's probably the best way to feed a flock living together. If you have them all caged separately I have no idea how much feed to give them.

4. Dawn419

Dawn419 Lost in the Woods

Apr 16, 2007
    Evening Shade, AR
    Hi Freddy!

We have a Bantams only flock and I have feed available for them 24/7. The laying hens have layer pellets available at all times and I've just started keeping a dish of grower/finisher available at all times for the roosters as the boys don't need the extra calcium of layer pellets. I only feed a bit of scratch, just before roosting time, when the nights are down below 40. Scratch is to chickens as candy is to us! [​IMG]

Hope this is some help and welcome to BYC!

Dawn

5. Freddy

Freddy Out Of The Brooder