1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

How much heat in the coop??

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by wundernurse, Mar 12, 2009.

1. wundernurse

wundernurse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 26, 2009
    Atlanta
    My youngest chicks are 6 weeks and I wanted to move my 7 chicks to their coop. The rest are 7 and 9 weeks. The night time lows are mid 40's. Should I use a 125 or 250 watt heat bulb in their draft free coop?? Thanks for any advice and info

2. Daycare Mom

Daycare Mom Chickens, Cuddly and Delicious

Apr 9, 2008
    Conklin, Michigan
    I would give them a light in the coop and then they have it if they need it.

3. luvarabhorses

luvarabhorses Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Hector, Ar
    I am no expert but I'll tell you what I did. I put three 75 watt bulbs in different areas but within about 8 inches of each other. The chicks seem to be pretty happy.

4. Kim_NC

Kim_NC Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2009
    Mt Airy, NC
    I use a 250 watt heat lamp. They have plenty of room to get away from it if they're too warm.

5. luvarabhorses

Oct 1, 2008
    Hector, Ar
    I think that's what most people do. [​IMG]

6. Mrs MIA

Mrs MIA Chick Magnet

Mar 3, 2008
    I've gotten away from using the 250w bulbs... too much electricity. I use the dome-lamps with a 60 watt bulb, and they do just fine. You might have to lower it a little more than a 250, but it works. As they get a little older, you can raise it up to decrease the heat, or switch to a 40w bulb. After our $585 electric bill in January, all unneccessary lights went away. [​IMG]

7. vermontgal

vermontgal Chillin' With My Peeps