How often do you clean your coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by WestVermont, Jan 6, 2013.

1. WestVermont

WestVermont Out Of The Brooder

Dec 27, 2012
    Bennington, Vermont
    I am fairly new to backyard chicken keeping and wanted to know how often you clean your coop. Currently my chickens are still in the brooder about to go out to a coop and I was wondering how often coops are cleaned and if you wish to share more what you do when you need to do this chore?

2. CastleFarmUK

CastleFarmUK Out Of The Brooder

Jan 2, 2013
    Welsh Boders UK.
    The answer to this question is easy. Just before it gets dirty.

Any droppings in the litter at the bottom of the coop harbour all sorts of problems that while your birds are sleeping/roosting will filter up in the air around the birds as the air in the coop warms up from the birds being in there. Without proper ventilation the air gets loaded with bacteria and the birds inhale it.

Ammonnia build up will damage the lungs of the birds.

Coccidosis and microplasma are spred in the dropping and ingested by birds pecking at it and carrying it around on thier feet.

The cleaner the coop the healthier the birds will be.

Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
    1 person likes this.
  3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Our barn pens are rather large. We can get by with cleaning under the roosts, for an "in between" cleanup, but once a month, a complete and thorough cleaning is called for. The manure goes out to the garden fields in the off season and onto a compost pile during the growing season.

You might want to investigate what is called the Deep Litter method, in which one only "cleans" out the coop once or twice a year. I don't believe this works well, in my experience, unless the floor is soil based, sand or dirt.

4. Izzymoon

Izzymoon Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2012
    My Coop
    twice a week for 5 hens

5. Jakoda

Jakoda Chillin' With My Peeps