how often do you clean your duck pond?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Fancie, May 4, 2009.

1. Fancie

Fancie Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2008
    Illinois
    I do it weekly but it is about a 4 hour advent, and the water never seems to get as clean as I would like it to. I was thinking maybe if I cleaned it more maybe it wouldn't take so long and maybe I would get better results.

Also do any of you use the water to water the gardens?? this is my first year... I heard duck water is good for gardens.

2. hypnofrogstevie

hypnofrogstevie chick magnet

Jul 12, 2007
    Newton NJ
    I clean my pond out once every four days. The water has all the duck poo in it which has nutrents for plants. . My plants love it.

3. cawooduck

cawooduck Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Livermore, CA
    I have a 7' x 9' pond that i drain, clean and refill about every 5 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later, depending on weather.

I have to drain it no more than every four days in the summer due to algea, if i stay on top of it, its not to bad to deal with, if i let it go its a pain in the butt.

As for the water, i drain it into a field right now, but i am going to rototill the ground where i drain it and put some melons there, might as well make use of the waste water, seems the weeds love it!!

4. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    I have a 500 gallon pond. I have a large bio filter so I don't clean it. It has been a couple of months and I DO need to suck the sediment out of the bottom. I will put that muck in the garden somewhere [​IMG]

5. barnwife

barnwife Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2009
    central Texas
    I have a small plastic turtle with a drain at the bottom as my duck pond...its the type that usually has a lid, but I got it free without the lid [​IMG]