How to find a (good) breeder?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Stephine, Jul 2, 2016.

1. Stephine

Stephine Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2016
    Sonoma
    Hi all!
    I am new to chickens, so I bought a good book (A Chicken in Every Yard) and did what they told me to do. I bought my chicks from a hatchery (Meyer). They are lovely, if a bit ferocious at times (they are eight and nine weeks old now), but some look different from how I think they should look and now, reading about how hatchery stock is not reliably true to breed I wonder if that was a mistake. When we add to our flock in the future I would like to buy from a breeder - but how do you find them? I have googled, but not with much luck. Thanks!

Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  2. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California