How to prepare for hatching eggs and raising chicks for the first time?

SquishyPandas

In the Brooder
7 Years
Mar 30, 2012
I have been keeping hens for about 2 or 3 years now and the youngest I've had are pullets at point of lay, but the other day, one of my Dads customers who keeps hens offered my Dad some live eggs!
So my Dad was telling me about it, and although the rest of my family don't really like my chickens, they did seem quite in to the idea of having chicks! :D We would probably get about 2, 3 or 4. :)
So, I have a few questions...

1) How should I go about preparing for getting the eggs, what should I buy, can you recommend good brands of incubators or anything and some good tips? :)

2) When the chicks are old enough to live outside in a coop, will I be able to introduce them to my existing flock, or will I have to keep them in a separate house and run?

3) How long does each stage take? As in how long are they in the egg, how long will they need to live in an incubator, etc...

Thank you! I just can't wait!!!! :weee

Heres what I know:
1.The time period for incubating chicken eggs is 21 days.
2. The humidity needs to be at 50-55% for the first 18 days then bump it to 60-65% the last 3 days before they hatch.
3. Once all the chicks have hatched, put them in a Brooder at 90-95f (start dropping the temp, a few degrees a week, for up to 4 weeks.
4. Build a coop, kick thier fluffy butt out of your house :)
5. Read as much as you can on here, you will learn so much.
6. I HIGHLY recromend ordering a Murray McMurray catolog, it has helpfull tips and backgrounds on breed etc. not to mention its fun to look at all the diffrent breeds. But yea. Hope that helped keep us posted :)

1) How should I go about preparing for getting the eggs, what should I buy, can you recommend good brands of incubators or anything and some good tips?
smile.png