How to start a flock from juvenile pullets from different sources?

kpdov

Hatching
Apr 6, 2016
Hi Everyone - I'm new to chickens and starting a new flock in a couple of weeks. A friend of mine is raising chicks for me with her own chicks. Together, we have 5 Rhode Island Red female (sexed so we're hoping they are all females!) chicks that are now about 3 weeks old. I'll be getting 3 of the chicks to bring home in a couple weeks once they are about 6 weeks old. I decided 3 wasn't enough, so I ordered 2 Cream Legbar juvenile pullets to make my flock larger. I should be able to pick up the Legbar juvenile pullets at about 6 weeks of age. This would make my RIR and Legbars hatched about 3 weeks apart. My questions are:

1. If the RIR are first in the coop (in there for a couple weeks) before the Legbars are added, will there be integration issues? Can I add the Legbars without any issues or introduction period? The RIR will be about 9 weeks old and the Legbars will be about 6 weeks old.

2. Should I wait and add the RIR and Legbar pullets to the coop at the same time?

3. Since this would be a new flock, do I need to quarantine the RIR or Legbars?

Thanks for taking the time to read my thread. Any advice is appreciated!
smile.png

You are going to have troubles mixing them at that age, so I would plan on penning them next to each other and than letting them mingle under supervision, than returning them to their own pens until they can get along, it could take a month or two, or you could get lucky and they get along.

As far a quarantine, I personally wouldn't, but I would also be willing to take my chances. If your friend has other chickens than they would be the batch that could carry something.