how well can chicks fly? wing clipping?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by 4ee2buff, May 18, 2010.

1. 4ee2buff

4ee2buff In the Brooder

May 18, 2010
    Vermont
    I have 6 baby chicks about 2 weeks olds. They are starting to practice using their wings. I am hoping to avoid wing clipping, but I am curious.. How well can baby chicks fly? They will be in an enclosed run, as they get older will they be able to fly over fence?

Yesterday, one flew right at me from the Brooder and landed in my hands!

I have 4 Arucaunas, and 2 Buff Orpingtons.

Thanks

2. bakerjw

bakerjw Songster

Apr 14, 2010
    Johnson City, Tn
    I am new to chickens and chicks but I know that my 2 to 3 week old Sebrights can fly quite well. I wouldn't clip though but that's just me.

As for an enclosed run, will the top be covered as well? If so then they can fly to their hearts content. If not then you will have to watch for hawks.

3. Toi-toi

Toi-toi Songster

May 12, 2010
    Central MA
    Mine is just 1week old and they start jumping off from brooder!!
    I don't want to cut wings, too.

4. at 4 weeks old ours can clear a 6 foot fence. We clip only one wing to keep them in the yard.

5. fastpat

fastpat Songster

Quote:Chicks don't fly particularly well, but they can jump with wing assistance up to something about 2 feet tall by week six give or take. My chicken run will be covered with wire to protect against the numerous hawks we have in the area, the biggest are Red Tailed Hawks which are big enough to kill a half grown chick. A full grown Partridge Rock Rooster will weigh between 8 and 9 pounds, no hawk will mess with one that large.

The point of the above is to say, if you have a restricted area that chicks can roam and only a normal five or six foot fence, your chickens will eventually be able to fly over that. So a chicken run should be covered with fencing, preferably chicken wire. That will keep the predators out and the chickens in.