Howdy from the DFW Westoplex

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by sarhoundlvr, Mar 10, 2014.

1. sarhoundlvr

sarhoundlvr New Egg

Mar 9, 2014
    north central texas
    Howdy! I am brand new to this site, living in the DFW Westoplex (I'm about 1hr southwest of FW). I have 2 horses and 5 dogs (2 pets and 3 for SAR). I decided a few months ago I wanted to do chickens this year to help with bug control. My neighbor has them, why not me! So I got my outside coop built but havent had a chance to finish the inside. I was planning on getting them early April so no rush right (was going to start with TSC and see how that went).

Wellllll..... I work in law enforcement and last night ended up having to adopt 6 -2 wk old chicks (red pullets and a white leghorn). And of course was too busy afterwards to get them home so spent the night with 6 patrol chicks. Gives new meaning to the phrase "chicks with guns".
    I'm not completely prepared, so now they are living in a wire crate with a space heater in my bathtub till I can pick up supplies on Monday. They are cheeping and bouncing around so I guess its working. Been reading this site! Glad it's here!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG] Chicks may be cheeping so much because they are cold. At this age they would have a heat lamp - so that at their foot level the temp. would be 85 degrees. You lower by 5 every week until they fully feathered and ready to go outside.

On the other hand, they also cheep a lot when they are too hot.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Good luck with your new babies and welcome to BYC!

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Good luck with the new chicks! That was an interesting start to chicken keeping.

5. sourland