Humidity in the bator......

Old McDonald 27

In the Brooder
10 Years
Mar 26, 2009
Alabama
Well my royal palm hen started laying again and i FINALLY found her nest. I took 6 eggs and went ahead and started them in the bator since I don't know how old they are. It is a really old metal incubator and this is my first time trying to hatch turkeys ( I let her hatch them last time) I put a digital thermometer/ humidity thing in there. The temp has been perfect. The high/low has been between 100*and 102*. But I can't get the humidity up. It is staying around 30%. The water cup is full. What else can I do??? If I don't get the humidity up are my eggs gonna die?

on a side note. When I took her eggs yesterday I put 3 chicken eggs in there so that hopefully she would keep laying in the same spot..... today when I checked it there was only one chicken egg and a turkey egg. Do you think a snake ate them or could she have rolled them out??? The nest is in some underbrush. I brought the turkey egg inside and put it in an egg carton to save for the next batch to go in the bator, but..... I really don't want to be sticking my hand into the brush where I can't see if there is a snake in there!!!!

You can take a spray bottle and try misting to get the humidity up, some people put sponges or damp towels also. ours runs about 40% during incubation.

If the turkey stepped on the chicken eggs she could have broken them. The hens will carry the broken eggs away from the nest so not to call in predators. If you have any ducks those eggs will work much better.

Steve in NC