I am new to chickens in the winter and have egg laying questions...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by festivefeet, Dec 12, 2009.

1. festivefeet

festivefeet Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2009
    Hi there. I have five hens in my coop/run. They will be 1 yr in April. They were laying pretty consistently for a good long while but now that the weather is really cold here in Michigan and the days are shorter I am only getting about one egg a day and sometimes no egg. I am wondering how normal this is. I am having to buy store bought eggs and am not happy about it. I thought maybe it was because it was to cold, so we put a heat lamp in the hen house (also because their water was freezing in the hen house). So the temp in there now is about 40-50 in the day and 35-45 at night. The water no longer freezes and the coop is much warmer than before.

Is there more I can do to help them produce more eggs or is this just how winter is?

Thanks.
    Jessica

PS. I have one buff orpington, two silver laced wyandottes, an easter egger and a mutt chicken (not sure what it is, some kind of mix).

2. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

You have a pretty bouquet of birds there. [​IMG]

Some of us put lights on to bring their laying cycle back- takes 14 hours a day. I have lights on from 5 am - 8 am, seems to work, we almost at the shortest day.
    Others rest their birds...it's your choice! [​IMG]

3. festivefeet

Apr 2, 2009
    By the way, they are on Dumor layer feed, they have oyster shells, we are trying to give them fresh veggies now and then (leaf lettuce and some apples etc). They occasionally get scratch.

I have always heard that happy chickens are laying chickens and I am not sure where I am lacking for them.

4. festivefeet

Apr 2, 2009
    What kind of lights? Right now they have a heat lamp in the coop.

5. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop