I had to debate with myself over this and accepted it.

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Jody, Nov 26, 2009.

1. Jody

Jody Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2009
    Epping, NH
    I got my chickens pretty much to be pets and for just eggs, but fact of the matter is, we as a family eat chicken.

My 3 chickens are older adults. My guess, perhaps 2yrs old. They appear to me to be healthy, but keep in mind that I'm a newbie to owning chickens.

When I first got them, I had it in my head that when they died I could process them and eat them, but then I thought about that for a moment and decided no.. too old and not gonna eat a dead bird.. it's gotta be fresh killed..

Then, after a few days getting to know my chickens, I decided, no.. I can not eat a family pet unless we we're starving..

Then yesterday I watched Food Inc and was absolutely disgusted with how the food industry grows and processes the chicken we eat.

As I understand it, an older chicken can be used as a stew chicken and would have to be slow boiled in soup with the result being a more chickeny flavor and needs to cook long to be tender meat. Is this correct?

Reason I ask this, is because I'm contemplating the idea of acquiring another small flock and culling these chickens as food. The new flock will be pullets and used as layers for a period and I intend on getting roosters so I can also hatch in order to keep a constant rotation of eggs and chickens as food.

I slaughtered and processed chickens 22yrs ago as a student at the aggie, so I'm sure I can relearn this or become accustomed to it.

I no longer desire to eat food containing hormones, chemicals, GMO, etc and rather have a wholesome home raised chicken to eat.

I understand my cost would be a bit higher this way, but the return is worth it as the food will be healthier, however, how much higher can that cost be if I plan on hatching and keeping a cycle going so that I have a constant supply of fresh chicken, eggs, etc