1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I have a few questions about ducks..

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by americana-chick, Jan 3, 2010.

1. americana-chick

americana-chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2008
    Ok i just bought my first duck with a few hens and 2 baby chicks i have figured out he/she is an Ancona duck. i think its a female but i am definatly not a duck expert as this is my first time ever owning a duck. How do you tell Ancona ducks apart? (female or male) and can chickens and ducks mate and have chicklings? (lol)
    Thanks!

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

If it quacks it's a female if it makes a raspy sound it's a male. Males also have a tail curl which are a few feathers that curl up on the top side of the tail.

3. rainplace

rainplace Interstellar Duck Academy

if it quacks it's female, if it has a curl or two at it's end, it's a male.

ducks and chickens can't have babies [​IMG]

4. Goat_Walker

Goat_Walker I Am THE Crazy Duck Lady

Jul 9, 2008
    Maryland
    I am so JEALOUS!!! Anconas are a really cool breed. You cant tell by coloring, you'll have to wait for the curly tail or the quack. You need to post pictures!!!! Oh, and no, the chickens wont cross breed with your duck - though they will try.

and you might want to highly consider getting your duck some duck friends.

5. americana-chick

Jun 18, 2008
    This duck is HUGE but i dont believe she has a curland she has quacked so im guessing definate female! Thank goodness because one of my friends has an Ancona Draik and she said i could breed the 2 if i wanted! And my mom already freaked that i brought 1 duck home.. bringing another isnt a good idea here... [​IMG] But maybe once the feed store gets chicks i might buy some more duckies as i am lving how cute they are [​IMG]