1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I know it's not polite to ask a lady...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by lisebarb, Oct 20, 2008.

1. lisebarb

lisebarb Chillin' With My Peeps

but how can you tell how old a hen really is?

The fellow I bought my girls from told me they were all under 2 years old but then I read something here about telling the age of a bird by how scaly their legs are. Being a newbie I wouldn't know how smooth or scaly a chicken's legs should be or if that's even true.

So, since I can't ask the girls, how DO you tell?
    Barbara

2. bluey

bluey thootp veteran

Apr 10, 2008
    Washington, PA
    I think the approximate age can be told by how faded the color of the legs are but you have to know by breed, what color they start off.

3. ella

ella Chillin' With My Peeps

You can tell how old they are during their first year, especially the first 6 months because they develop pretty uniformly. But past that it gets a lot tougher.

The legs thing; if they are a yellow legged breed and the legs have completely bleached out they've been laying for about 24 weeks. Here's a page that explains how to evaluate a layer: http://www.msstate.edu/dept/poultry/extcull.htm

The
    whole how scaley the legs are as age indicator is bull. Hen's with scaley leg mites will get progressively rougher legs that's proably where that came from. My 6 year old girls have lovely smooth legs <--- hmm that didn't come out right! [​IMG]

If you already have them you can tell approx. age by how many eggs you're getting. One egg every other or every third day and they're probably under 3 years old. But nothing is set in stone because laying ability depends on many factors, such as breed, time of year, general health etc...