1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

I know nothing, please help me!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by jmbiker11, Dec 28, 2008.

1. jmbiker11

jmbiker11 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 28, 2008
    I want to get into keeping chickens, but I have no experience and know nothing about it. So if anybody could help me that would be great.

First I guess what kind of housing do they need? I live in Alabama so it doesnt get too cold. In the winter it might get in the 20s or 30s, during the summer though it is hot and humid.I was looking at pictures of tractors on this website and I was thinking of building one of those because I live in a neighborhood but its not like Im
    right next to someone, im even considered county not city.

Im going to get them as pets, and their eggs. So I was wondering could I just get 2 or 3 hens or do I need to have a rooster?What would be the best breed for a beginner?Is their a certain breed that lays eggs to eat?Do I need to get them as chicks and raise them or can I just buy them ready to lay eggs?

What do I need to do as far as keeping them and their coop clean?

What's the best food for them?

Any other advise or help would be much apreciated thank you.

2. B. Saffles Farms

B. Saffles Farms Mr. Yappy Chickenizer

Nov 23, 2008
    Madisonville, TN
    First of all [​IMG] You can start with a simple house mainly something they can get in out of the wind and rain. You dont need a rooster, unless you are wanting to hatch chicks. You can eat eggs from any of them. All chickens are basicly the same, theres not really any that are a better beginners chicken. You can get the ready to lay, unless you are just wanting to raise them from babies. Laying pellets or laying crumbles is what I feed to my layers. Hope this helps.