I need a chick poop expert please...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by guesswhatchickenbutt, Apr 3, 2009.

1. guesswhatchickenbutt

guesswhatchickenbutt Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2009
    Central FL
    I have 3 chicks that I got last Saturday - so they're just over a week old. I've got an EE, BR and BO... They've been on pine shavings with paper towel on top. Two days ago I removed the paper towel, added some Timothy Hay and let them pick around on the pine shavings since they've been growing so well and eating their chick starter.

Normal chick poops...until tonight.

I just went in to check on them and I noticed the BR doing very liquid yellow poops. The EE is still pooping regularly... then the BO squated down and pooped out a 2" piece of Timothy Hay.

So.... I'm new to chicks. Should I be concerned about any of this?

Just to be on the safe side, I put down two layers of paper towel for them to sleep on tonight. I know they'll still find a way to get the shavings and hay out from under the towel, but I figured it couldn't hurt to lay down paper towel again.

Is the runny yellow poop cause for concern? She seems healthy otherwise. Her previous poops had been a typical chick poop - just like the other two.

Should I worry about my BO pooping out a piece of hay?

Sorry for the poop talk, but chicks and poop go hand-in-hand and since I'm new at this I'd love to hear some advice from a seasoned chick raiser.

Thanks in advance.

2. AHappychick

AHappychick Wanna-be Farmer

Dec 16, 2008
    westchester
    i am not sure but just shavings or pine pellets are fine maybe they dont know not to eat the hay i would not use it and maybe get a little chick grit to help digest what they did eat.

3. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    First, congrats on the new babies! Aren't they incredibly endearing???

Regarding poop. I know me some chicken poop. lol