I need pressure canner reccomendations please

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by NancyP, Jun 20, 2009.

1. NancyP

NancyP Songster

Mar 28, 2009
    Bonifay,Florida
    Should I go with the presto that is cheaper or is there something better and how do I decide what size to get. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am new to this and will gladly take any help I can get.
    Thanks, Nancy

2. Opa

Opa Opa-wan Chickenobi

May 11, 2008
    Howell Michigan
    I have an 30 qt All-American 930 pressure canner made by Wisconsin Aluminum http://www.goodmans.net/get_list_117.htm I've used it lots every year since 1972 without any problems. Canning isn't hard or dangerous just read the Blue Book.

3. JennsPeeps

JennsPeeps Rhymes with 'henn'

Jun 14, 2008
    South Puget Sound
    My pressure canner is much smaller than Opa's. I can't remember what it is. I think it's a Mirro 16qt or so. I got it on ebay last year for about $50 and used it quite a bit last summer with no problems. I agree with Opa: learn how to use it and don't be afraid of it (ok, maybe you can cultivate a healthy respect for it).

4. I love my 23 qt Presto, years ago I started w/the same thing but it was a tiny bit smaller and had the weight that you had to count 10 shakes or rattles per minute and I miss that soothing sound now that I upgraded. My son-in-law uses a tiny 2 qt Presto and makes the most awesome bbq ribs...I don't know how to use his smaller one since it doesn't have a pressure gauge but he just "does it" [​IMG]

5. Quote:The all- american is the way to go. We had one before with the rubber seal and it was a pain. About every year you need a new one. It pays to shop around, there can be a big difference in price. I found ours offered at a small hardware store in the midwest about $15 less than other places and they had free shipping on orders over $100.

Steve in NC

6. PeggySue

PeggySue Songster

Jun 1, 2009