I need the help of some friendly chicken owners!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by alex.keipper, Sep 12, 2011.

1. alex.keipper

alex.keipper Out Of The Brooder

Sep 12, 2011
    Hello Backyard Chickens forum!

My name is Alex Keipper and I'm a recent graduate of the NYU film program, an animal lover and vegetarian, and I'm preparing to shoot my undergraduate thesis film starting this week into next week in the New York City area.

The film is called Skin and Bones and it's the story of a young man working to support his mother and brother financially whilst simultaneously acting out aggressions as an animal liberationist. More than that though, it's about him struggling to raise his brother, fighting his own desires and insecurities, and discovering the place his ideals have in the world he inhabits. It's also about the food we eat, the connection we have to it, and what it means it eat or not eat animals. I've been working on the project for over a year now, and it's one I'm deeply invested in.

Our story calls for several scenes to be shot using chickens in a coop the main character has built and keeps in his backyard. While we had a caring keeper of chickens from upstate New York committed to letting us use her chickens for our film, she has had a recent emergency in her family that may prevent her from helping out. We're due to shoot these scenes on Thursday, and are now scrambling a bit to find another chicken keeper who may be willing to help us out.

If anyone would be interested, I would be eternally gracious. I already owe a decent amount to Backyard Chickens, as we researched our coop design using your website! We have a modest budget to provide some form of payment that we could discuss, and of course anyone interested would be reimbursed for all personal expenses. We would only need you for part of the day on Thursday. If you'd like more info on the film, you can visit http://www.skinandbon... or ask me any questions.