I think I have the kind of chickens that don't lay eggs!

chicken quartet

In the Brooder
11 Years
Jun 12, 2008
Corona, CA
I have a 7 month old silky/ cochin cross bantie pullet, and a 6 month old GLW pullet. I have not gotten a single egg from either one of them!! I also bought some chicks from Ideal back in July and they all turned 16 weeks last Wednesday. I don't have any roosters. I know my 16 week olds are probably still too young to lay yet, but what about the other two?? My GLW has really red wattles and looks like she should be laying. My bantie doesn't look ready to lay at all and she's 7 months old! What the heck is going on?? I've decided that I bought the wrong kind of chickens... the non-laying kind! I think they are all a bunch of free loaders! I've been saving egg cartons for 6 months and I have nothing to put in them! LOL
hu.gif

Last edited:
Silkies are not great egg layers to start with, on average 160 per year. They are also late bloomers. But don't give up hope. I have heavy breed girls that have waited until they were 30 weeks before their first egg.
Some people are lucky enough to have their hens start early. Still all depends on the breed and the breeding. Our best layers are our Black Sex-Links and the Leghorns. They all throw 5 eggs a week per bird. Next is our New Hampshires which averaged out is about 4 1/2 eggs per week per bird. Our worst layers are the silkies at 0 and Old English Games which are 27 weeks and no eggs yet. We are breeding and hatching Production Reds now for Spring and also more Black Sex-Links.

I have a 8 month old EE/Ameracauna and no eggs!!
barnie.gif
but she's so cute we let her live rent free.
love.gif

I have a mystery breed that hasn't laid yet but one fart egg. She was full grown when we got her but no idea how old, but we have had her for 3 months. Chickens lay when they are darned well ready to lay.